2022 World Cup: Denmark's Squad and Team Profile

2022 World Cup: Denmark's Squad and Team Profile
The World Cup 2022 in Qatar is upon us. Everything you need to know about Denmark, which has been drawn into Group D of the 2022 World Cup along with France, Australia and Tunisia.
2 min read
18 November, 2022
The Denmark Team is in Group D at the 2022 FIFA World Cup tournament [Getty]



  • Best World Cup performance: Quarter-finalists in 1998
  • Other honours: European champions in 1992
  • FIFA ranking: 10th
  • Main clubs: FC Copenhagen, Midtjylland, Brondby
  • How they qualified: Denmark finished first in European qualifying Group F
  • Coach: Kasper Hjulmand, 50, was appointed in 2020 as the successor to Age Hareide, whose contract expired after the dates initially set for that year's European Championship. Hjulmand coached in Germany from 2014-15, replacing Thomas Tuchel at Mainz but failing to make it through his first season. After a second spell at Nordsjælland. Hjulmand guided the Danes to the semi-finals of Euro 2020, overcoming the trauma of Christian Eriksen's on-pitch collapse in the opening game before falling just short against England after a controversial extra-time penalty.
  • Key player: Christian Eriksen's mere presence at the World Cup is nothing short of a "miracle" in his own words. The Danish playmaker "died for five minutes" after collapsing on the pitch following a cardiac arrest at Euro 2020. He was fitted with a defibrillator but Italian rules prevented him from playing again with Inter Milan. Eriksen returned to action after eight months out with Brentford, where his displays earned him a move to Manchester United. The 30-year-old has been a regular for Erik ten Hag this season and will be appearing at his third World Cup.


Group Fixtures & Matches

  1. November 22: Denmark v Tunisia
  2. November 26: France v Denmark
  3. December 30: Australia v Denmark



Goalkeepers: Kasper Schmeichel (Nice), Frederik Ronnow (Union Berlin), Oliver Christensen (Hertha Berlin)

Defenders: Simon Kjaer (AC Milan), Andreas Christensen (Barcelona), Jens Stryger Larsen (Trabzonspor), DF: Daniel Wass (Brondby), Joakim Maehle (Atalanta), Joachim Andersen (Crystal Palace), Rasmus Kristensen (Leeds), Victor Nelsson (Galatasaray), Alexander Bah (Benfica)

Midfielders: Thomas Delaney (Sevilla), Mathias Jensen (Brentford), Christian Eriksen (Manchester United), Pierre-Emile Hojbjerg (Tottenham), Christian Norgaard (Brentford)

Forwards: Yussuf Poulsen (RB Leipzig), Martin Braithwaite (Espanyol), Andreas Cornelius (Copenhagen), Kasper Dolberg (Sevilla), Robert Skov (Hoffenheim), Andreas Skov Olsen (Club Brugge), Jesper Lindstrom (Eintracht Frankfurt), Mikkel Damsgaard (Brentford), Jonas Wind (Wolfsburg)