2022 World Cup: Australia's Squad and Team Profile

2022 World Cup: Australia's Squad and Team Profile
2 min read
18 November, 2022
The World Cup 2022 in Qatar is upon us. Everything you need to know about Australia, which has been drawn into Group D of the 2022 World Cup along with France, Denmark and Tunisia.
Australia's players take part in a training session at the Aspire Academy in Doha on November 17, 2022, ahead of the Qatar 2022 World Cup football tournament. (Photo by CHANDAN KHANNA/AFP via Getty Images)


  • Best World Cup performance: Last 16 in 2006
  • Other honours: Asian Cup winners 2015; Oceania Football Confederation Nations Cup winners 1980, 1996, 2000, 2004
  • FIFA ranking: 38
  • Main clubs: Sydney FC, Melbourne Victory, Brisbane Roar, Melbourne City
  • How they qualified: Came third behind Saudi Arabia and Japan in Asian qualifying Group B, then won intercontinental playoff against Peru 5-4 on penalties after game was deadlocked without a goal for 120 minutes
  • Coach: Graham Arnold, 59, was appointed in 2018 after Dutchman Bert van Marwijk departed in the wake of the last World Cup. Arnold was previously an assistant at the Socceroos and worked alongside Guus Hiddink during the 2006 World Cup, where Australia made the last 16. His tactics and style of play have come under criticism and he narrowly avoided the sack after Australia failed to automatically qualify for Qatar.
  • Key player: Aaron Mooy is arguably Australia's most important player, marshalling the midfield and bringing vast experience. Now with Scottish side Celtic, the 32-year-old played in the Premier League for Brighton and Huddersfield Town.


Group Fixtures & Matches

  1. November 22: France v Australia
  2. November 26: Tunisia v Australia
  3. November 30: Australia v Denmark



Australia's World Cup 2022 squad

Goalkeepers: Mat Ryan (Copenhagen), Andrew Redmayne (Sydney FC), Danny Vukovic (Central Coast Mariners) 

Defenders: Milos Degenek (Columbus Crew), Fran Karacic (Brescia), Nathaniel Atkinson (Hearts), Bailey Wright (Sunderland), Aziz Behich (Dundee United), Kye Rowles (Hearts), Harry Souttar (Stoke City), Joel King (OB), Thomas Deng (Albirex Niigata) 

Midfielders: Ajdin Hrustic (Verona), Aaron Mooy (Celtic), Riley McGree (Middlesbrough), Jackson Irvine (St. Pauli), Keanu Baccus (St Mirren) , Cameron Devlin (Hearts)

Forwards: Martin Boyle (Hibernian), Mathew Leckie (Melbourne City), Jamie Maclaren (Melbourne City), Awer Mabil (Cadiz), Mitchell Duke (Fagiano Okayama), Craig Goodwin (Adelaide United), Jason Cummings (Central Coast Mariners), Garang Kuol (Central Coast Mariners)