Trump rages on with new anti-migrant travel ban

Trump rages on with new anti-migrant travel ban
Only one of the countries from the expired ban, Sudan, will no longer be subject to travel restrictions
2 min read
25 September, 2017
US President Donald Trump [Getty]

US President Donald Trump has signed a proclamation imposing strict new immigration restrictions, which includes bans on five Muslim-majority countries already covered by the administration's expiring travel ban

The indefinite restrictions apply to countries already on the so-called Muslim ban - Iran, Libya, Somalia, Syria and Yemen - with Chad and North Korea added to the list.

As part of the presidential proclamation signed Sunday, the US will also bar the entry of certain Venezuelan government officials and their immediate families.

The changes are due to take effect 18 October.

The announcement came the same day that Trump's temporary ban on visitors from six Muslim-majority countries was set to expire, 90 days after it went into effect.

The previous ban had barred citizens of Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria and Yemen who lacked a "credible claim of a bona fide relationship with a person or entity in the United States" from entering the US.

Only one of the countries from the expired ban, Sudan, will no longer be subject to travel restrictions.

"Making America safe is my number one priority. We will not admit those into our country we cannot safely vet," Trump tweeted late Sunday after the new policy was announced.

The first iteration of Trump's travel ban, which sparked chaos at airports across the country and a flurry of legal challenges after being hastily written with little input outside the White House.

Officials this time stressed they had been working for months on the new rules, in collaboration with various agencies and in conversation with foreign governments.

To limit confusion, valid visas would not be revoked as a result of the proclamation.

The order also permits - but does not guarantee - case-by-case waivers for citizens of the affected countries.

The restrictions are targeted at countries that the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) says fail to share sufficient information with the US or haven't taken necessary security precautions.

DHS has spent recent months working to develop a new security baseline, which includes factors such as whether countries issue electronic passports with biometric information, report lost or stolen passports to INTERPOL, an international law enforcement body, and share information about travelers' terror-related and criminal histories.

Citizens of countries that don't meet the standard will face restrictions until they make changes to bring them into compliance.