2022 World Cup: Mexico's Squad and Team Profile

2022 World Cup: Mexico's Squad and Team Profile
The World Cup 2022 in Qatar is upon us. Everything you need to know about Mexico's champions, who have been drawn into Group C of the 2022 World Cup along with Saudi Arabia, Poland and Argentina.
2 min read
18 November, 2022
Mexico Team poses for a photograph prior the friendly football match between Mexico and Sweden, at the Montilivi stadium in Girona on November 16, 2022. (Photo by Pau BARRENA / AFP via Getty Images)


  • Best World Cup performance: Quarter finals in 1970 and 1986
  • Honours: Eight CONCACAF Gold Cups, 1999 FIFA Confederations Cup, 2012 Olympic gold medal
  • FIFA ranking: 13
  • Main clubs: America, Cruz Azul, Guadalajara, Pumas
  • How they qualified: Finished second in the North, Central America and Caribbean region final qualifiers
  • Coach:  Gerardo Martino - The Argentinian, who turns 60 on the first day of the World Cup, was appointed in 2019 with the goal of leading the "Tri" to the quarter-finals for the first time in more than three decades. Martino led Atlanta United to the US Major League Soccer Cup title in 2018 and was named coach of the year. He has also managed Barcelona as well as the Argentine and Paraguayan national teams.
  • Key player: Guillermo Ochoa - The 37-year-old is the Mexican national team's most capped goalkeeper and holds the record at his Club America for the most games without conceding a goal. Easily recognisable with his curly hair and headband, Ochoa spent three seasons with French side Ajaccio before being chosen as Mexico's first-choice goalkeeper at the 2014 World Cup. He won plaudits that year for almost single-handedly holding mighty Brazil at bay to help his side earn a precious 0-0 draw.


Group Fixtures & Matches

  1. November 22: Poland v Mexico
  2. November 26: Argentina v Mexico
  3. November 30: Mexico v Saudi Arabia



Mexico's World Cup 2022 squad

Goalkeeper: Guillermo Ochoa (America), Alfredo Talavera (Juarez), Rodolfo Cota (Leon)

Defenders: Jorge Sanchez (Ajax/NED), Kevin Alvarez (Pachuca), Nestor Araujo (America), Cesar Montes (Monterrey), Hector Moreno (Monterrey), Johan Vasquez (Cremonese/ITA), Gerardo Arteaga (Genk/BEL), Jesus Gallardo (Monterrey)

Midfielders: Edson Alvarez (Ajax/NED), Luis Chavez (Pachuca), Carlos Rodriguez (Cruz Azul), Andres Guardado (Betis/ESP), Hector Herrera (Houston Dynamo/USA), Erick Gutierrez (PSV Eindhoven/NED), Orbelin Pineda (AEK Athens/GRE), Uriel Antuna (Cruz Azul), Diego Lainez (Sporting Braga/POR)

Forwards: Henry Martin (America), Raul Jimenez (Wolverhampton/ENG), Rogelio Funes Mori (Monterrey), Santiago Gimenez (Feyenoord/NED), Alexis Vega (Guadalajara), Hirving Lozano (Napoli/ITA)